Arctic Monkey’s Suave Cover of ‘Feels Like We Only Go Backwards

I’ve been an Arctic Monkeys fan since I can remember. I’ve listened to all five of their albums countless of times and I’ve grown to favour this band more than a number of others. I was thrilled when I heard there would be new material from them after ‘Suck It and See’ but ‘AM’ however had shown that the band had matured from the music they had produced from their youthful days. The transition was clear in ‘Suck It and See’ but ‘AM’ had taken it to whole other level. Their budding ambitions back in the day made their music more genuine and frank and ‘AM’ just seemed like an attempt to please the masses with an over the top persona. The band started to become overrated for me and this cover kind of certifies it for me. Tame Impala had a kaleidoscope quality that made sense for a song like ‘Feels Like We Only Go Backwards’ while the Arctic Monkeys just gave an exaggerated and macho cover that felt very off. Nonetheless, Alex did make a compelling effort to make this track as one of his own. Though the band may no longer be what I used to adore, they are still a band that I would give props to over a number of others.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

