Alt-J

 

IMG_1740 Edited
*love is the warmest colour (not blue, which is unfortunately the colour of most of my photos.)

Man can this band give me chills.

Alt-J are almost like magicians, putting you into a trance, making you totally unaware of everything else- at least that’s how my brother described me while I was at the concert, describing my “dancing” as hippie-esque and laughing thereafter. Hmph.

But I swear that it’s almost impossible resist the charm that is Alt-J. Hearing ‘Taro’, ‘Nara’ and ‘Dissolve Me’ live, was sensational. This was one my first few concerts and these songs nearly got me emotional. Despite Gwil’s absence, their performances were above par and did not fail to excite the fans (which includes the many Coachella girls that were present and somehow managed to only remember the lyrics to ‘Breezeblocks’ and ‘Matilda’ and yes, I do get annoyed easily).

The band’s distinct musical style is definitely a feat to achieve and deserves the mainstream success it has garnered. Hey, if you know more than 4 songs I’d say you’re a fan already, even if you are a Coachella girl (yes, some Coachella girl did rub me off the wrong way at the concert and not just because she had on a flower crown).

Alt-J, it was an amazing set that transported me to another universe where your sound reigned supreme. Just come back and let me have another fantastic time ok.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

