Circa Waves

IMG_1971 Edited.jpg

I’ll be perfectly honest, I’m not entirely a fan of Circa Waves but they were part of Dr. Martens Stand For Something Tour and it was free, so why not? And I needed to de-stress from the essays I had to write.

Their debut album isn’t half bad, it’s fresh, youthful and easy to listen to. It is kind of the epitome of Indie rock, comparable to The Kooks and The Libertines (hey, I said kind of). There are some earworms once you listen to it long enough, and that’s what I did, I mean you can’t go to a concert and not know any songs right? ‘Young Chasers’ and ‘Stuck In My Teeth’ are my personal favourites the former having this build-up that’s accompanied with this snappy whistle and the latter being this upbeat and cheery tune. The whole album is basically straightforward Indie rock full of easy breezy songs for the summer.

Whoever was a massive fan of the band at this gig definitely got their money’s worth (even though it was free) because you got to stand right in front of the stage without any barriers or whatsoever and actually be within an arms reach of Kieran, the lead singer. Too bad I wasn’t one of these fans, I was content with being in the middle (even though I was sandwiched in between two couples who were stiff as stone, IT’S A CONCERT FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE. DO SOMETHING WITH YOUR ARMS AND LEGS).

I did a good worth of jumping and dancing at this gig, I mean, their songs are mostly this infectious fast-paced songs that are sure to get you on your youthful feet (I realize that I’ve said youthful twice, but at least I managed to avoid saying upbeat again).  Kieran was an engaging frontman and it was exhilarating to be within a short distance of the band. And when I heard the first few chords of ‘T-Shirt Weather’, there was some sort of animal instinct in me to push a few people just to get nearer to the stage (sorry I was an asshole for a moment there). But I had a great time jamming out at the front.

Circa Waves, you did a fine job of entertaining your fans and I do look forward to a second album and I’ll always remember T-Shirt Weather cause in Singapore, it’s always T-Shirt weather.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

