New Tame Impala, Same Old Psychedelic Vibes

IMG-20160421-WA0003 editedThis incredible psychedelic rock outfit made their way down to Singapore’s shores once again and ooh wee did I have a great time. They were here for a previous Laneway Festival that I was unfortunately was not a part of but thank the lord they came back to grace me with their presence in an amazing location, The Star Theatre. There were assigned seats so I didn’t have to wait in line for hours just to be in the front (phew) and the seats we got were in the front row, right in front of the stage – I was ecstatic. The night was starting off on the right note and I haven’t even broken a sweat (thank goodness since I had an exam the next day, woops). The band even came out on time! (What?! Everybody always comes out late, thanks for the punctuality Kevin, appreciate it!)

Tame Impala’s music has always resonated with me, as an introverted loser whose shyness is criminally vulgar (ehh ehh see what I did there with that Smith’s reference? Man, I’m pretentious). Innerspeaker was an amazing album with songs like “Solitude is Bliss”, “Lucidity” and “Why Won’t You Make Up Your Mind” which they did play during their set. But Lonerism was a whole other level of introverted psychedelic rock anthems. This was an album that got me through some of my lowest points where I felt alienated and worthless, so thanks for the preventive measures (or songs) from a complete breakdown Parker. But seriously, “Why Won’t They Talk to Me?” had such a significant impact on me, it was to the extent that when I heard it live,  tears started to well up in my eyes.

I may have digressed a little too much but hey, that’s what Tame Impala’s music does to you – causes you to enter into a space where the colours are iridescent and your feet feel like they’re no longer rooted to the ground. If you saw me at the concert, I would be embarrassing myself by dancing in my own world and shamelessly calling out to Kevin by screaming his own lyrics to him. These moments  will be forever remembered through some embarrassing recordings of me which I am strangely proud of actually. But I’m pinning my then condition on the captivating light arrangements. The photos I have don’t exactly do justice to what I experienced that night which was like falling down a rabbit hole (a rabbit that was tripping on acid maybe, not like I would know right).

Their set had a good mix of songs from all three albums but of course they had to play a little more of “Currents” which I am not complaining about because that album was superb. From start to finish, I was on board except for maybe “Gossip”, yeah wasn’t too keen on that one. Nonetheless, this album definitely managed to elevate Tame Impala’s standing as a musical outfit. Opening with “Let It Happen”, it got me and the audience (especially me) grooving and jiving from the get go. Five songs later they played “The Moment” which had this Tears for Fears-esque sound and got me dreaming to be in the 80s with blown-out feathered hair and an earring on one ear.

And when that bass line to “The Less I Know The Better” started playing, I was all set and ready to jam out (Trevor I hate you btw, whoever you are). God bless this band for playing “Feels Like We Only Go Backwards” and “New Person, Same Old Mistakes” for the encore. The former song was definitely a crowd favourite, the audience almost overpowering Kevin’s vocals. There was also an insane amount of confetti that just added to the magical feeling of the night. “New Person, Same Old Mistakes” kind of brought out my atrocious falsetto during the bridge cause you’ve got your demons and she’s got her regrets. You cannot deny that this line is nothing short of brilliant.

The set felt terribly short and the whole thing kind of ended at a kid-friendly time of 10.30pm and I still didn’t manage to get the setlist dammnit. But I left feeling fulfilled and with a sore throat from singing my lungs out. Kevin may have been just a touch off-pitch but the whole night was an amazing experience, listening to the songs that have acted as a comforting friend for me, live, was overwhelming. Thank you so much and just come back okay.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “New Tame Impala, Same Old Psychedelic Vibes

  1. I have to have a proper listen to these? I’m seeing them every where!

Leave a Reply

