Not Everything I’ve Come to Expect

The Last Shadow Puppets |Everything You’ve Come To Expect|

shadow art

I’m not the internet’s busiest music nerd okay, I usually listen to music at my own sweet pace. Own time own target okay, so this review is coming very late because I just got around to it and despite what Alex Turner and Miles Kane may have titled their album, it’s not what I’ve come to expect from their sophomore album.

When ‘Bad Habits’ was released, I was pretty confused. I did hear a something that was reminiscent of their first album. It included the signature orchestra sound that I adore in their music but ‘Bad Habits’ was weirdly upbeat and felt like they were trying hard to step out of their usual calm and composed sound. Trying a bit too hard to me. I don’t know, I’m just not too fond of this track.

Then ‘Everything You’ve Come to Expect’ came out and I was overjoyed to hear more new songs (besides ‘Bad Habits’) from the people who made The Age of the Understatement. Then I heard it and was slightly underwhelmed actually. It was a smooth, slow-paced and mellow track that was perfectly pleasant to listen to but it wasn’t what I thought a Last Shadow Puppet song would sound like. It lacked this dynamic energy and charm The Age of the Understatement had. But it’s more of a song that grows on you, it’s probably the bias I have towards Alex Turner, but the more I heard it, the more I kind of liked it.

‘Aviation’ seemed like similar track to ‘Bad Habits’ but a major step up from it but still just short of that TLSP charm I’m looking for. But ‘Miracle Aligners’ was a godsend (so far) for this album. It sounds very similar to that song ‘My Girl, My Guy’, which may explain why I like the song (what can I say, the hook is catchy). And the video that accompanied that song, my gosh, I haven’t giggled this much in a long time.

I have so many questions. Why are they tan? Why is Alex’s hair in disarray? Who taught them to dance? What’s up with with the flower petals in the beginning? Was Alex’s part dubbed or is he really speaking Italian? You know what, nevermind, I love the video. It’s a sweet representation of their blooming bromance that I am very jealous of.

Throughout the rest of the album, I can’t help but think that Alex’s and Miles’ newfound image of this exaggerated macho attitude has had a direct impact on the album. It sounds as if they’re trying extra hard to come across as suave and debonair. And if you stripped the album off of its orchestrated instrumentation, I think you might just get Arctic Monkeys’ AM. A very popular album, just not my favourite Arctic Monkeys album.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

