Future Present Past

2016_TheStrokes_CultRecords_260516Happy Strokes Day! (Yesterday)

2016 has been a pretty good year for new releases, well, for me. There was Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool which is beyond words, because I don’t think I’m capable enough of putting brilliance of that standard into words. There was also Chance The Rapper’s Colouring Book, Weezer’s White Album, Wild Nothing and Jake Bugg (actually only a couple of songs from him). So many more releases this year that I’ve been excited about. But the holy grail of releases has just happened and it’s The Strokes’ Future Present Past EP.

This band has been with me while I still had Sony Ericsson phone with a keypad and I thought that ‘Reptilia’, ‘You Only Live Once’ and ’12:51′ were the best songs ever (ah, the blossoming of my pretentious youth). Even though the albums that followed after Room on Fire were met with mixed reactions from fans I honestly thought they were pretty decent albums. Of course there were tracks from each album that I didn’t like but the songs that I did like definitely compensated for their weaker tracks. My favourite song from the band is actually ‘Razorblade’ from First Impressions of Earth (pls dun judge me). I know we can never expect them to return to the sound from Is This It but I think ‘Threat of Joy’ from this EP comes close.

The whole EP is a little something for every Strokes fan. A lot of people have been commenting on how ‘Drag Queen’ is for those who are more appreciative of JC + The Voidz’s  sound (how do I add an apostrophe if there’s a Z btw?). While ‘Oblivius’ is for those who are fond of ‘First Impressions of Earth’ and ‘Threat of Joy’ is for those who has been babbling how they miss the band’s ‘Is This It’ days. I sort of agree with the things said about ‘Oblivius’ and ‘Threat of Joy’ but I don’t think ‘Drag Queen’ necessarily reminds me of JC + The Voidz. Sure there’s an intensity from the bass but it’s subtler and it also becomes much more lighthearted than any JC + The Voidz track. I’d say that ‘You’re so Right’ from Angles is a lot more comparable to JC + The Voidz’s tracks than ‘Drag Queen’. The track kind of reminds me ’12:51′ to be honest.

I’m just on cloud nine right nowknowing The Strokes are together in the studio. I’m ecstatic but my fingers are still crossed though. I don’t need another Comedown Machine (it was nice the first time, please lord let there not be a second time).

You can listen to the EP here btw    http://cultrecords.com/

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

