On My Loop: Snail Mail – Headlock

I remember saying in that in between emails that I would be writing the spare thoughts that I had about whatever music was listening to at the time or was moved by. Boy, did I underestimate my motivation to do so. Feeling mentally and physically drained at the end of each day is so recurring that it’s just the norm to me now. I used to listen to music and think about how I could describe the images I imagine or the way the sounds move me. I now listen to music as an opportunity for me to empty my mind on the train and release every single thought I had because frankly, my brain is exhausted.

But Snail Mail’s new album Valentine kind of changed that. I’ve been feeling a bit more emotionally vulnerable as I meet new people to broaden my social circle and there’ll be times where I get that little tingly excitement to a handful of encounters. Valentine felt like a good accompaniment to this period of my life. The whole album feels like a confession told in hushed tones, where Lindsey is huddled right up to you, trying to persuade and coax you to stay the night. Her feelings of desire and longing being poured out through the raspiness of her voice, added weight to her sincerity of wanting to be with you. You can’t help but blush hearing Lindsey profess her inner most affections on Valentine.

I feel especially blushed after hearing Headlock, one of my favourites from the album. Her voice on this particular track has just shown how much she’s grown from Lush, not just musically but also as a person learning to live her life intertwined with another. Relationships aren’t easy to navigate and a lot of confusion ensues, but Lindsey seems to embrace the both the charm and the chaos of forming a an important connection.

I grew addicted to hearing Lindsey’s voice crave for her partner. I can’t emphasise enough how much I enjoyed listening Lindsey pronounce the words “nirvana” and “lost,” and how much I tried to mimic that tone of voice because I loved it so much. Additional layering of her vocals with whispers echoing “are you lost in it too?” just made it that more intimate. With the added pianos almost emulating a fluttering heart, the guitars serving to be your mind trying to stay as grounded as possible, and the owl-esque synths nodding to the blooming of the relationship, the track encapsulates what it’s like to be young, irrational and infatuated.

I wasn’t surprised to find this song on my top five most played songs on my Spotify wrapped as I’ve definitely connected with the tenderness of the track, uncovering a new set of soft emotions that only surface when you’ve met someone new, exciting and seems perfect for you in some of the best ways.

Leave a comment