We cried some of the hottest tears we ever cried at the Arctic Monkeys show

28 Feb 2023, what a night.

Making their debut for their Asia tour in Singapore on 28 Feb, the Monkeys had their Southeast Asian fans thirsting for their performance for well, decades. Finally having an Asia tour for their newest release “The Car,” many fans here have been anticipating their presence on our tropical shoreline for a good while.

The energy before the show was intense. Even though an official queue would only begin at 4.30pm, some had queued as early as 6 am, showing their commitment to the band. The crowd was a sea of black (and a lot of leather) showing that many stylish listeners were definitely taking note of Alex Turner’s fashion sense during the “AM” era.

There became a competitiveness to be at the front of the line and the tensions were kind of high and would only increase once security started opening a barrier for an official queue to begin. People started rushing and I got caught up in the run and eventually found myself stuck in a disgruntled mob. There was yelling, my heart was palpitating, and there was just an air of irritability. It didn’t feel like a good start for me personally.

But the amount of fans and dedication of the fans just proves how commendable it is for the band to have continued to not only stay relevant, but to surpass the peak of their popularity will nearly every album.

Once the two-hour wait to enter the venue was over, all hell broke loose. Security had a hard time holding people back because so many were dying to be at the front. There was running, pushing, your basic mob mentality characteristics. I was no longer that eager to be the front seeing I’d have to fight tooth and nail just to get there. I just wanted to enjoy myself, not join a wrestling match. Weirdly enough, my friend had managed to finesse her way near the stage with minimal struggle and had taken me along with her.

In typical rock ‘n’ roll fashion, the band came on stage 20 minutes late. Antsy fans were getting antsier as the crowd started getting tighter with every passing minute. While the tardiness wasn’t unexpected for me, the crowd’s vibe was jarring. That angst that they had suppressed for nearly half a day, immediately converted into vehement pushing and screaming at the sight of the silhouette of the band. It became crucial to stand my ground just so I wouldn’t lose my spot (or get my feet stepped on).

I seriously cannot emphasise enough the thirst this crowd had for Arctic Monkeys. I even overheard comments where some wanted to be close enough to the stage to feel Alex Turner’s sweat drip onto them.

Once the band appeared, they insightfully opened with Sculptures of Anything Goes. It felt like a good choice of an opening song as it gave us all a chance to collect ourselves after the few seconds of frenzy after the show started.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of “The Car” but that’s not to say it isn’t a good album. I just don’t think I was in a headspace for a slow, sultry, sound. But I must say, hearing it live does make it a *moment*. Everybody was momentarily calm, drinking in the performance. We were all collectively in awe that yes, Arctic Monkeys were performing live right in front of us.

And then Brianstorm began and I lost my mind. I tried to start a mosh, but nobody joined in (and in that moment, I was *that* crazy person at concerts). Everyone around me might have been too caught up in the moment and I might have been a little too aggressive as well as my friend’s belongings somehow ended up on the floor while I attempted to include her in my mini mosh. (I’m sorry to everyone that was around me but it was Brianstorm!) The thundery drums, the quick pace, and the fluttering lights were all signs for a mini mosh.

I’m the type to do my homework before a concert, I will study the setlist and do my best to have the songs ingrained into my brain. It just makes the show a lot more fun and fulfilling when I know most of the songs. But out of nowhere, they play Do Me A Favour. It was absolutely unexpected because I did not see this song listed on any of the band’s previous setlists. I gasped so hard and my eyes were wide from delighted disbelief that they would play my favourite song from my favourite album. It felt like a little gift from the band to me. Hearing the song live managed to capture what made Arctic Monkeys a household name, its heart-wrenching lyrics, deep rumbling drums, and a dramatic climax. The surprise of hearing the song made the show so much more special to me.

And of course, they had to play fan favourites (there would be riot if they didn’t). Do I Wanna Know, Arabella, Snap Out of It, Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High undoubtedly attracted the most energy from the audience. Although there wasn’t much movement, hearing others scream the songs word for word did make up for it slightly as hearing voices in unison can elevate any concert experience.

When the band played songs from “Humbug” like Crying Lightning and Pretty Visitors, there was a different ambience. The album definitely stands out for sounding a lot more ominous and dark as compared to rest of the band’s discography. The choruses while catchy, do lean on the odd side but brought out an eccentric side of Alex Turner on stage that was fun to watch.

From all the live performances that I’ve seen of the Arctic Monkeys, I’ve come to realise that Alex Turner isn’t the type of frontman who engages with the crowd with banter and conversation. I usually enjoy that during concerts because it allows me as an audience member to feel a little closer with the band. However, he has such an enigmatic stage presence that exudes an air of imperceptible prestige. He and his band have solidified that they are certified rock stars and rather than proving that through interactions with the audience, they let their effortless delivery of a truly memorable performance do all the talking.

When the band left the stage momentarily to build anticipation for their encore, fans were crying out for 505 as the song has just enjoyed a new lease of life on TikTok. The band did play the song at long last as an encore, but with a little twist. That slow sultry sound that accompanied “The Car,” was infused in this new rendition of 505. Some were kind caught off guard at the change (me too kinda) but it was honestly a refreshing take on a song that I’ve heard one too many times before on online spaces. And it’s not Arctic Monkeys if there’s no reinvention.

The band closed the show with with the best song choice, R U Mine? It was a last hurrah for everyone who had waited nearly their entire lives to see this band and to let loose to the music, put their phones down, and get moving. I thank those who did take the opportunity to live in the moment (as cliched as it sounds). A band as electric as Arctic Monkeys deserves a crowd that reciprocates in enthusiasm and excitement. The band delivered on their end, I just hope that we as concert-goers did too.

Leave a comment